RECEIVED

99 AFR -8 PH 12:00

WEST VIRGINIA LEGISLATURE

FIRST REGULAR SESSION, 1999

ENROLLED

FOR House Bill No. 2324

(By Delegates Johnson, Fleischauer, Hutchins, Riggs and Trump)

Passed March 13, 1999

In Effect Ninety Days from Passage

PECHIVE()

99 APR -3 PH 12: 00

4:00 1 2: 11 11 12: 10

ENROLLED

COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE

FOR

H. B. 2324

(BY DELEGATES JOHNSON, FLEISCHAUER, HUTCHINS, RIGGS AND TRUMP)

[Passed March 13, 1999; in effect ninety days from passage.]

AN ACT to amend and reenact section one, article two, chapter fiftyone of the code of West Virginia, one thousand nine hundred thirty-one, as amended, relating to the division of judicial circuits; realigning certain circuits; clarifying terms of offices; addressing judge residency in certain circumstances; and making certain technical revisions.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of West Virginia:

That section one, article two, chapter fifty-one of the code of West Virginia, one thousand nine hundred thirty-one, as amended, be amended and reenacted to read as follows:

ARTICLE 2. CIRCUIT COURTS; CIRCUIT JUDGES.

- §51-2-1. Judicial circuits; terms of office; legislative findings and declarations; elections; terms of court.
 - 1 (a) The state shall be divided into the following judicial
 - 2 circuits with the following number of judges:

3 The counties of Brooke, Hancock and Ohio shall constitute 4 the first circuit and shall have four judges; the counties of 5 Marshall, Tyler and Wetzel shall constitute the second circuit 6 and shall have two judges; the counties of Doddridge, Pleasants 7 and Ritchie shall constitute the third circuit and shall have one 8 judge; the counties of Wood and Wirt shall constitute the fourth 9 circuit and shall have three judges; the counties of Calhoun, 10 Jackson, Mason and Roane shall constitute the fifth circuit and 11 shall have two judges; the county of Cabell shall constitute the 12 sixth circuit and shall have four judges; the county of Logan 13 shall constitute the seventh circuit and shall have two judges; 14 the county of McDowell shall constitute the eighth circuit and 15 shall have two judges; the county of Mercer shall constitute the 16 ninth circuit and shall have two judges; the county of Raleigh 17 shall constitute the tenth circuit and shall have three judges; the 18 counties of Greenbrier and Pocahontas shall constitute the 19 eleventh circuit and shall have two judges; the county of 20 Fayette shall constitute the twelfth circuit and shall have two 21 judges; the county of Kanawha shall constitute the thirteenth 22 circuit and shall have seven judges; the counties of Braxton. 23 Clay, Gilmer and Webster shall constitute the fourteenth circuit 24 and shall have two judges; the county of Harrison shall consti-25 tute the fifteenth circuit and shall have three judges; the county 26 of Marion shall constitute the sixteenth circuit and shall have 27 two judges; the county of Monongalia shall constitute the 28 seventeenth circuit and shall have two judges; the county of 29 Preston shall constitute the eighteenth circuit and shall have one 30 judge; the counties of Barbour and Taylor shall constitute the 31 nineteenth circuit and shall have one judge; the county of 32 Randolph shall constitute the twentieth circuit and shall have 33 one judge; the counties of Grant, Mineral and Tucker shall 34 constitute the twenty-first circuit and shall have two judges; the 35 counties of Hampshire, Hardy and Pendleton shall constitute 36 the twenty-second circuit and shall have one judge; the counties 37 of Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan shall constitute the twenty-38 third circuit and shall have four judges; the county of Wayne 39 shall constitute the twenty-fourth circuit and shall have one 40 judge; the counties of Lincoln and Boone shall constitute the 41 twenty-fifth circuit and shall have two judges; the counties of Lewis and Upshur shall constitute the twenty-sixth circuit and shall have one judge; the county of Wyoming shall constitute the twenty-seventh circuit and shall have one judge; the county of Nicholas shall constitute the twenty-eighth circuit and shall have one judge; the county of Putnam shall constitute the twenty-ninth circuit and shall have two judges; the county of Mingo shall constitute the thirtieth circuit and shall have one judge; and the counties of Monroe and Summers shall consti-tute the thirty-first circuit and shall have one judge: *Provided*, That the Kanawha County circuit court shall be a court of concurrent jurisdiction with each single judge circuit where the sitting judge in such single judge circuit is unavailable by reason of sickness, vacation or other reason.

(b) Any judge in office on the effective date of the reenactment of this section shall continue as a judge of the circuit as constituted under prior enactments of this section, unless sooner removed or retired as provided by law, until the thirty-first day of December, two thousand.

- (c) The term of office of all circuit court judges shall be for eight years. The term of office for all circuit court judges elected during the general election conducted in the year two thousand shall commence on the first day of January, two thousand one and end on the thirty-first day of December, two thousand eight.
- (d) Beginning with the primary and general elections to be conducted in the year one thousand nine hundred ninety-two, in all judicial circuits having two or more judges there shall be, for election purposes, numbered divisions corresponding to the number of circuit judges in each circuit. Each judge shall be elected at large from the entire circuit. In each numbered division of a judicial circuit, the candidates for nomination or election shall be voted upon and the votes cast for the candidates in each division shall be tallied separately from the votes cast for candidates in other numbered divisions within the circuit. The candidate receiving the highest number of the votes cast within a numbered division shall be nominated or elected, as the case may be: *Provided*, That beginning with the primary

Enr. Com. Sub. for H. B. 2324] 4

- 79 and general elections to be conducted in the year two thousand,
- 80 judges serving a judicial circuit comprised of four or more
- 81 counties with two or more judges, shall not be residents of the
- 82 same county.
- 83 (e) The supreme court shall, by rule, establish the terms of
- 84 court of circuit judges.

That Joint Committee on Enrolled Bills hereby certifies that the
foregoing bill is correctly enrolled.
Landa Konor
Chairman Sehate Committee
Chairman Senate Committee
Colf Little
gr 7, Louance
Chaifrhan House Committee
V
Originating in the House.
\
Takes effect ninety days from passage.
Takesericet innery days from passage.
X by all blolly
f CUMU CARABO
Clerk of the Senate
Bryon Sa. Bray
Clerk of the House of Delegates
(O. V. B. mud.)
- Car row work
President of the Senate
7
Speaker of the House of Delegates
The within this the Sh
The within this the
1000
day of, 1999.
$\sim \sim $
(sel luderon
Governor
V
Governor

PRESENTED TO THE

GOVERNOR

Date_

Time